Conway voters reject tax caps, Blue Loon; support airport

by Tony on April 9, 2014

Conway voters have rejected proposed tax caps for town and school district budget planners, rejected giving money to the Blue Loon Bus Service – and for the first time in years, have approved giving town money to the municipal airport in Fryeburg, Maine.

Unofficial results provided by the Conway town clerk indicate more than 1,400 voters went to the polls in Center Conway Tuesday.

Mary Carey Seavey and David Weathers were re-elected as selectmen; Rodney King as police commissioner; Rebeccal Oleson elected town moderator; Mary Cuthbertson checklist supervisor; Martha Tobin and Kevin Flanagan to the planning board; Maury McKinney, Christopher DeVries, William “Bill” Masters and Terry McCarthy to the budget committee; Lucy Philbrick and David Paige library trustees and Wendy Holmes as trustee of trust funds.

All town articles passed, with the exception of Article 4, special meeting; Article 21, to provide $4,000 to the Carroll County Transit Blue Loon Bus Service – Article 26, to dedicate a section of Greeley Road in memory of Brian Abrams and plow a section of the road; Article 27, to implement a tax cap and Article 28, to raise the annual compensation of checklist supervisors.

In school district voting, Michelle Capozzoli, Janine McLauchlan and John Skelton were elected to the school board, Douglas Burnell school moderator and Theodore Sares as treasurer.

All school articles passed, with the exception of Article 13, to implement a tax cap.

All results should be considered unofficial until confirmed by the Conway town clerk.