Kenney wins council seat

by Tony on March 12, 2014

The Associated Press reports Republican Joe Kenney has won the special election to fill the unexpired term of the late longtime District One executive councilor Ray Burton, who died in Nov., 2013.

Democrat Mike Cryans conceded the race Wednesday morning, saying he had left a message for Kenney wishing him the best of luck on the council.

With more than 41,000 votes cast, Kenney beat Cryans by about 1,300 votes, with 21,351 to 20,084 for Cryans.

New Hampshire Gov. Maggie Hassan released a statement congratulating Kenney and commending Cryans for his efforts, saying “serving in the seat held for over three decades by Ray Burton is a special responsibility, and I look forward to working with Councilor-elect Kenney to achieve bipartisan progress and to ensure that the people and communities of northern New Hampshire are well represented in Concord.”

In Conway, Cryans got 425 votes while Kenney got 300.

Here are council vote results from other towns in Carroll County.

In Albany, 109 votes for Cryans, 105 for Kenney. In Bartlett, 379 for Cryans, 307 for Kenney. In Eaton, Cryans 56, Kenney 53. In Freedom, Cryans 152, Kenney 141. In Hale’s Location, Cryans 7, Kenney 25. In Madison, Cryans 215, Kenney 196. In Ossipee, Cryans 198, Kenney 335. In Sandwich, Cryans 202, Kenney 173. In Tamworth, Cryans 219, Kenney 165. In Tuftonboro, Cryans 271, Kenney 436. In Wakefield, Cryans 201, Kenney 414. And in Wolfeboro, Cryans 697, Kenney 969.

All results should be considered unofficial until certified.